Xtrk pop-up camper trailer cake

Wow! It’s been a while between cake deco posts, but I have been baking up a storm.

One of my most recent creations was this camper trailer cake.

IMG_6799

When Robyn asked me to make her husband John a birthday cake for his 60th, she mentioned a camper trailer. Having no idea about campervans or trailers, I had visions of an old VW combi and thought ‘sure this will be easy‘! When I found out it was one of these nifty new pop-up things, I realised it wasn’t going to be as straight forward as I first thought!

20130201-171205.jpg

Robyn described it as ‘bullet-shaped’ and she couldn’t have been more spot on. Once I started researching camper trailers, I began to understand why people go mad for them.

This was my first time making my own fondant. I wanted to have as much control as possible over the consistency for the little dude I was going to place on top. I am pretty happy with how he turned out. He’s a little slouchy, but you get the idea!

IMG_6780

IMG_6802

In the interests of cake versus shape, I slightly sacrificed the shape of the camper so that it was a bit higher and there would be plenty of chocolate mud cake to go around.

IMG_6783

I used a rich christmas-red paste colour to paint on the ‘Xtrk’ text and blue and silver dust for the other features.

IMG_6815

Some of the images Robyn sent through showed a very dusty and dirty trailer, so I used cocoa powder to make the chocolate dust ground.

IMG_6800

It was very cool to see the look on Robyn and her friend’s face when they came to collect! And by all accounts, John had a happy birthday and loved the cake.

IMG_6918

Thanks Robyn and John, I’m pretty sure this was a one in a million cake!

Like this post? Check me out on Facebook and share the ♥  The Cake Tart

5 thoughts on “Xtrk pop-up camper trailer cake

Tell the Cake Tart what you think!

