Banana bread with a chai twist

So I’ve been back at work since Tuesday, but I am still reminiscing about my couple of weeks holiday. So much relaxing, visiting friends, home time, Bargara Beach and an awesome Bundy wedding. Ahhhhhh, the best.

A great thing about being on a holiday where you don’t have any real direction is that you can see where the day takes you. Last week I visited a newish arrival, Oliver Henry Myers! I told his mum, Sam, that I’d bring a treat along and wanted to make something healthy and delicious.

Banana bread rules because all the ingredients are things you’d usually find in the kitchen, you don’t need to use your mixer and you can use up your old bananas. I am mildly obsessed with chai – it’s my power spice blend and I knew it would work well with the banana.

Here’s my take on a banana bread recipe I got from the Michelle Bridges 12 Week Body Transformation program. It may not be as healthy as Mish’s, but there are lots of wholesome unprocessed ingredients in it.

Amber’s chai spiced banana bread

500g wholemeal self raising flour
125g rolled oats
2 tsp baking powder
100g brown sugar
40g raw caster sugar
1.5 tsp ground cardamom
2 tsp allspice
2 tsp cinnamon
2 overripe bananas
120g tin apple baby food
140g olive oil spread, melted
310 ml milk
1 black tea bag
1 egg white
2 tsp vanilla bean paste
Extra raw sugar for sprinkling

Start out by preheating the oven to 180C and grease and line two loaf pans with olive oil spray and some non stick baking paper. Combine the flour, oats, spices, baking powder and sugars in a large bowl. Heat the milk and with the tea bag in it in a small saucepan on the stove. Keep an eye on it and take it off the heat as soon as it boils. Discard the tea bag.

Meanwhile, mash up the banana – I used my Tupperware Turbo Chef to quickly wizz up the bananas, but if you like them a bit chunkier just use a fork. Make a well in the centre of the dry mix and add the bananas, baby food, milk and tea mixture, egg white, melted butter and vanilla bean paste. Stir well to combine.

Pour the batter into the prepared pans and smooth to even out – I make the top have little waves so they crisp up. Next, I liberally sprinkle raw sugar on top. This will caramelise while cooking and make for a yummy crunchy top. Usually, I also sprinkle some crushed walnuts for added crunch but didn’t have any around the place.

Bake them in the oven for about an hour. You may want to cook for less time, depending on your oven. I use pyrex loaf dishes rather than baking tins and that may be why mine takes a little longer. Use a skewer to know for sure.

4 thoughts on “Banana bread with a chai twist

Tell the Cake Tart what you think!

